If you make edits to a published document, and save those edits (dont publish) then the current version of the document changes from published to unpublished.

Impact: while documents are being edited, and corrected the document becomes unavailable to users.

Expect the default behaviour to be the published version remains current AND in the published state EVEN when edits are being made and saved that create new versions.

Only after the edited version has been reviewed, and published should the current live version be replaced by the recently published version.